Reviews

Five five star review reviews from 23 guests


Chad F.
 
We had a good time at your house


We three families spent a great long weekend at this lovely house. Everything is so thoughtfully and perfectly designed and maintained. Nice bedrooms with private bathrooms fit every families. Open porch with forest view is a casual place for reading and chatting. We love the kitchen the best where we have almost everything we need to prepare us wonderful holiday meals. The house is located close to so may parks, trails and waterfalls that we enjoyed sightseeing everyday. We wish that we could stay a couple more days longer but we do know that we will come back again.

Stayed: July 2017   Submitted: July 5, 2017   Source: AirBnB




Jason W.
 
Best House for the Location and Money


My family of 4 and another family of 4 just stayed over Memorial Weekend and we all loved it. You will not find a finer nicer home for your family to stay in. We all said that we could live in this house. It has everything that you could possibly need plus everything was top of the line. No expense spared in this house. The views were excellent and everything is near by. We said we would come back to this house again and again if available.

Stayed: May 2017   Submitted: May 29, 2017   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers



Carol K.
 
Wonderful Stay


My family and I had a wonderful stay in the mountains for the holiday. The house is down a drive in the middle of a rhododendron woods. The house was incredibly stocked, no need to pack anything but your clothes for your stay. The living room was a perfect size for family to sit and visit and enjoy the fire. Beds were very comfortable with very cozy bedding and the firewood was fully stocked for our evening fires. Nearby Brevard is a wonderful little town. I can only imagine how beautiful the property would be in the spring with the rhododendron in bloom.
The owners were very easy to contact and very helpful. I would love to go back in the warmer weather for fly fishing and hiking.

Stayed: December 2016   Submitted: January 2, 2017   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway



Celeste B.
Atlanta, GA
 
A perfect central location; beautiful, comfortable cabin that welcomes you home away from home!!


I so enjoyed the ease and convenience of this great cabin. So close to Caesar's Head, Dupont Forest, Symmes Chapel, and Pisgah --- we hiked each day and didn't have to travel that far to get to these awesome places. The cabin is just beautiful! You could feel the love and history in all the great details of the cabin and its surroundings. It was very clean, well equipped kitchen, big bedrooms and baths, and a great comfy living room with a big fireplace! Awesome porch. Owners are a pleasure to work with -you will not be disappointed in this great cabin. Look forward to a return visit!!!

Stayed: October 2016   Submitted: November 1, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Adventure seekers



Gene S.
 
Great Home!


We had a great stay at this beautiful and well appointed home. Great kitchen with everything you will need and more, wonderful beds with high quality bedding and sheets and an absolutely fabulous porch. We spent most of our time there. The porch had a swing and comfortable chairs and was especially alluring at night when it was a little cooler. The home is centrally located to many local attractions including hiking and waterfalls. We plan to return.

Stayed: August 2016   Submitted: August 18, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers



Bob & Jo Fields
near Atlanta
 
Beautiful cabin!


Great getaway!! Four couples in all, for four nights at this lovely cabin built in 1939; but has since been renovated. A lot of time spent on roomy porch enjoying the surrounding wooded views. 2 couples had their own en suite bathroom. 3rd spacious bathroom shared by 2 other couples. Kitchen very well equipped with 2 ovens, microwave, coffee maker and large walk-in pantry that stored all kinds of dishes and pots and pans. In short, we lacked for nothing! Easy day trips were taken to Brevard, Asheville, Greenville & quaint Hendersonville. What differentiated this cabin from other cabins, was the care taken with the decor. Loved the rustic charm and vintage feel of the cabin; tastefully decorated.Lots of wonderful books scattered about, but too busy going & visiting to do any reading! Maybe on next visit!

Stayed: June 2016   Submitted: July 5, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Gigi Bluffton
South Carolina, USA
 
"Pentimento" is "Excellento"


This was our fly fishing groups 2nd time renting "Pentimento". It is such a great place, very comfortable and relaxing. The home is set back from the main road and surrounded by woods, so it's very private. Downtown Brevard is only about 12 miles away. The kitchen is the best equipped rental we've ever been - two ovens, microwave, toaster oven, lots of flatware, pots/pans, dishes, etc. It also has any kitchen tool/utensil you would ever need, and everything is good quality. The beds are very comfortable and the home is very clean, and well-maintained.
Drawbacks? - The front access stairs might seem intimidating at first glance. However, we are in our 60's and 70's and had no real problem. However, I would not recommend this rental for anyone with a serious physical disability.

Stayed: April 2016   Submitted: April 7, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



laura B.
 
Wonderful cabin in the mountains


gorgeous lot. There's a small waterfall steps from the house - magical. Truly a home away from home, with an amazing kitchen equipped to handle Thanksgiving or Christmas with ease. Very cozy and charming! It really felt like a cabin loaned by old friends. Very well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, a Kitchenaid mixer - need I say more? :) State of the art dishwasher, 2 ovens - it was amazing cooking in this kitchen. This is an older cabin, lovingly restored- it instantly felt like home. So close to Dupont state forest, which has well-maintained trails for hiking and gorgeous waterfalls. Brevard is a charming town, only 15 minutes away, and there's an Ingles supermarket for last minute grocery shopping. We had a wonderful time here and plan to be back! Thank you for your hospitality!

Stayed: December 2015   Submitted: January 10, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Justin B.
 
A Wonderful Place


ur family stayed at the property for three nights. Great house that is situated on a beautiful section of the woods. Tom is very prompt with the booking process and we will be definitely be reserving the home again. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2015   Submitted: November 2, 2015   Source: VRBO



Janice G.
 
Fall Family Fun!


We had a fantastic time at Pentimento. The description of the house is point on. Extremely comfortable home. We loved the huge porch. Wonderful place for a family gathering. Great hiking nearby!

Stayed: October 2015   Submitted: October 14, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



alex r.
 
Great place for a family trip!! It has Everything!


Pentimento was a amazing place to stay! We met some friends from SC here for the weekend so there were 9 of us and we never felt crowded. The house is comfortable and well decorated. The wraparound porch is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy some morning coffee or the quiet of the afternoon/evening.

The bedrooms are all large and the beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms were very clean and updated.

The kitchen was the best in that it had everything you needed. When we rent homes you never know what you need to bring to cook at a house but here you can leave it all at home because they have everything. I think you could cook for a small army with all the gear they have. The gas grill worked fine we cooked steaks and burgers on it with great results.

The living room is very comfortable with a large stone fireplace(it was too warm for us to use but would have been nice on a cold fall evening). There is a TV with Satellite so you can get most of the football games you need though the tv is only 37in which for a living room is a little small but it worked fine for us.

The house has a great AC system, another thing I worry about in rental homes. There are separate units for upstairs and downstairs and they work very well.

The property the house sits on is beautiful old forest land and very well cared for. Our kids had a great time out exploring the area.

Location is good too. it was only 1.5 hrs from Greenville and 45 min from Asheville. Brevard is 20 min away and it is a fun town with great restaurants and stores with a old time feel. There are about 4 state and national parks within 20 miles from the house. there are hiking trails as close as a mile away and the Pisgah National forest is just on the other side of Brevard. We spent one day there hiking and swimming at the falls and doing some sliding at slide rock.

It was a great stay overall. Our only issue is that it was a long trip from Eastern NC for us. If it was a little closer it would be a place I would stay every time I went to the mountains. But for people from charlotte/asheville/greenville area this should be a house you don't want to miss.

Only thing you need to be aware of is there are ALOT of stairs at this house. It sits on a hillside and from the parking area to the front door is all stairs. The master suite is on the first floor but all other bedrooms are upstairs as well. Nothing we couldn't manage but for others it may be an issue.

Stayed: September 2015   Submitted: September 14, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



sylvia c.
 
"Enchanted Forest"


That's what my family named our 26 acre hideaway! We had to send pictures to our relatives because it was difficult to describe the beauty of our surroundings. The moment I started up the driveway, I knew I was not going to be disappointed. The gentle creek on either side of the house could actually be played in. I have rented houses that advertised "a creek for the kids", but upon arrival found it overgrown and snakey. As stated in other feedbacks, the house was clean....had q uality bedding....well equipped and supplied kitchen....and the BEST porch ever!! We lived on it enjoying the fan cooled shade as well as the rain. BABY BONUS !! The upstairs bedroom with king bed has a walk-in closet with the bathroom between. It was perfect for my granddaughter's pack-n-play. Her naps and early bedtime was not hindered by the 'fun' in the rest of the house. The closet has a window, vent and receptacle.

Stayed: July 2015   Submitted: August 3, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Terry A.
 
Beautiful retreat


What a beautiful home tucked away in the woods. The porch is magnificent, and the perfect place to sit and relax. Such thoughtful design and attention to detail in every room of the house. We came with our adult children and spouses. We enjoyed eating and cooking together in this beautiful, fully equipped kitchen. Being from the Midwest, it was a perfect home station to rest, go hiking in Dupont State Forest (so close) or Rainbow Falls in Gorges State Park-our favorite. We even went white water rafting on the Chattooga River-the only wild and scenic river in Eastern US. It was so nice to return to soft bedding, hot showers and delicious home cooked meals. It is the ideal setting for stress to melt away and rejuvenate the soul. There were 2 Barred owls that lived at the end of the driveway. The house is surrounded by moss, ferns and tall trees resembling a magical natural retreat that I have never encountered before. It is the perfect get-away.

Stayed: June 2015   Submitted: June 23, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



A guest from Columbia, SC
 
New Years celebration


Three couples have been celebrating the new year together for nine years and all agreed this is by far the best place yet. We were awed by the surroundings and the home. It was very comfortably decorated and we instantly felt at home. It is so well equipped you can even leave your salt and pepper at home!

Stayed: December 2014   Submitted: January 6, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Harriet Gettys
South Carolina
 
Great House, Grounds, & location


Wonderful home! Owners have taken care of every detail. Local assistance from Ellen, with any need or suggestions of hiking trails, sightseeing, etc. Lots to do in t he area. Our visit was a girls getaway for four people. We enjoyed the house very much and are considering return visits with our families. I would not hesitate to recommend this house for rental. Two things to note: One is that there are a lot of stairs from the driveway to the house. They are clear in the photos. The other is that there is no cell service at the house. There is WIFI which seemed to work well. Also, there is a local phone with limited time long distance access. Neither of these things were a real issue for us.

Stayed: September 2014   Submitted: September 26, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers



Tonya B.
 
Family Get Away


My family just got back from a few days at Pentimento. It is an amazing house with plenty of room for people to spread out. Even though it rained a good bit while we were there, we enjoyed the rocking chairs and swing on the porch for hours. The kitchen was the best stocked kitchen i have ever seen. Anything you needed to cook a meal was at your disposal! It was very tastefully decorated with antiques and very cozy and warm. We loved the large stone fireplace for the cool mountain nights (even in August)! The house sits on 20 something acres so it is very private with streams on either side of the house. I would definitely recommend this property. Pictures don't do it justice.

Stayed: August 2014   Submitted: August 8, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Stephanie W.
 
My stay in this beautiful house


This is an awesome place to stay especially if you have kids that like to play outside. There is a stream right on the property and a grassy area for playing ball. The house is neat and accommodated all 9 of us. If you have bad knees, the climb up the steps may be difficult for you. It is isolated and private. I would recommend this house, and I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014   Submitted: June 28, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers



S&L Supply
NC
 
Early Fall in the Mountains


This is a beautifully restored mountain home. Impeccably clean and comfortable. The kitchen was modern and had very tool and gadget to satisfy gourmet cooks. We had a wonderful time exploring - there are many interesting sights close by, including Caesars Head (beautiful views), DuPont Forest (amazing waterfalls) and too many hiking trails to list. The house is close to the quaint town of Brevard (do your food shopping at Ingles) and good restaurants (try Marco's). We had a fun canoe trip down the French Broad river. It was great to come back after a day of exploring and have a cocktail on the porch, a nice meal, and a soothing wood fire. There are so many things to do and see and Pentimento is the ideal place to stage your mountain vacation.

Stayed: September 2013   Submitted: October 12, 2013   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Joni, Nashville, TN
 
Pentimento


Excellent accommodations! Just like being at home - complete kitchen for the cooks, comfortable beds in every room with luxurious bedding, all seating very comfortable, wonderful wrap around porch, large den w/ fireplace, outdoor grill - home surrounded by a virtual rainforest environ. QUIET and peaceful. Lovely setting. Must note a lot of stairs to house from parking area. Nearby to Dupont Forest & Falls, Brevard, NC and Caesars Head, SC as well as "Pretty Place" where the YMCA Camp is located.Most enjoyable - we will return! Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2013   Submitted: June 10, 2013   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway



Anonymous
summerville
 
Absolutely PERFECT!


You will not be disappointed with this mountain house rental. From the minute you enter the driveway, you'll know you made the right choice. The surrounding area is beautiful, conveniently located and overall just charming. You'll enjoy the short drive to Brevard or Hendersonville for shopping or dining and the hiking trails that are located within minutes from this property. No need to look any further...this is definitely the rental you should choose if you want a cozy, spacious, well-stocked, clean and comfortable vacation home. We can't wait until our next stay!

Stayed: October 2012   Submitted: October 29, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Sarah
Greenville sc
 
I LOVE this place!!


I am a local resident who was searching for a location for my wedding. As an avid mountain biker i knew I wanted my wedding in the mountains I love to ride. When I found Pentimento I knew I found the perfect location! It was minutes from my favorite trails and secluded enough to give me the true feeling of being in the woods. The house was perfect size for our small wedding. The kitchen was great for cooking (we cooked all the food for the wedding); it was stocked with every utensil and serving dish we could need. The wrap around porch was perfect for entertaining and great for sipping morning coffee and listening to the wind in the trees and birds singing. The beds were incredibly comfortable and had high quality linens; certainly superior than the average hotel. We had family in town from out of state and they rented a house in the area as well. The difference between the two properties was shocking. The other house provided the very basics, whereas pentimento went above and beyond, considering each and every need I may have.

The local contact and caretaker of the property was extremely kind and generous, and ensured that all of our needs were met. They even took the time to let us view the property before we rented it.

It truly was above and beyond my expectations and made my wedding spectacular!! We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: October 2012   Submitted: October 14, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Judy
Houston, TX
 
Pentimento Mountain Retreat


This is a beautiful property with friendly, responsive owners. The listing accurately describes the premises but you have to be there to experience the incredible ambiance. The large porch with comfortable seating and a swing provided the perfect spot for enjoying the quiet beauty of the woods. The property was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained; the caretaker is a lifelong resident of the area, and was willing to answer all of our questions. The kitchen is well supplied with utensils and other conveniences. The property is about 20 minutes from Brevard where you will find restaurants, shops, pharmacies and 2 major grocery chains. There are beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, and numerous points of interest along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Asheville is a lovely town a little over an hour away, with restaurants, shops, and the Biltmore, which is worth the drive. I would definitely recommend Pentimento to anyone who asks, and we certainly plan to return.

Stayed: July 2012   Submitted: July 12, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Teresa Hoyt
Norcross, GA
 
Incomparable Mountain Getaway!


There are simply no words to describe what a fabulous vacation experience this home provides. Every year, we go up with two other couples for what has become an annual vacation that includes fly fishing, hiking, and what we all now refer to as "porch sitting -- Pentimento style." The house is one of the most beautifully appointed I have ever seen or stayed in. The modern kitchen is equipped with everything imaginable. The rooms and furnishings are welcoming and comfortable. But, without a doubt, the porch makes the house! Our group (since we are all Epicopalian Anglers, we have nicknamed ourselves the "Anglercans") just completed our fourth visit, and have every intention of continuing our annual retreat at Tom and Frannie's perfect mountain hideaway!

Stayed: May 2012   Submitted: May 28, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers