Reviews

Five five star review reviews from 69 guests




Brianna R.
 
A Wonderful Place!


What a wonderful place! Our favorite past time was walking around the beautiful property. We’ve already planned to come back next year!

Stayed: July 2022  Submitted: July 28, 2022  Source: AirBnB




Bob R.
 
Another awesome visit!


Our second stay at the Pentimento House! Another awesome visit! What a special place--so much nature, scenic beauty, rustic charm and all the comforts of home! Highly recommend! Hope to return!

Stayed: July 2022   Submitted: July 23, 2022   Source: VRBO




Bruce B.
 
Perfect Spot for College Friends Reunion


Pentimento was the perfect spot for our college friends reunion. The house is comfortable & lovely, and the yard is beautiful. It is conveniently located to Brevard for shopping and to numerous hiking trails. We spent a lot of time just being together on the spacious, peaceful porch. We will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2022   Submitted: June 3, 2022   Source: VRBO




Cynthia H.
 
Enjoyable Stay


We enjoyed our stay. Had plenty of room for everyone. Comfortable beds. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking and entertaining.

Stayed: March 2022   Submitted: April 19, 2022   Source: VRBO




Sheri B.
 
Lovely Time


We had a lovely time staying in Pentimento! The house is so unique and spacious. The grounds are breathtaking - even in late December! We met our kids there to celebrate Christmas and attend a wedding in the area. In spite of a little rain and fog, we were able to enjoy the beauty of the home and surrounding area.

Stayed: December 2021   Submitted: January 17, 2022   Source: VRBO




Sonia A.
 
Perfect House


This was the perfect house for our family holiday vacation. Lots of places to explore and room for the kids to run around. We enjoyed every moment and the house is wonderful.

Stayed: December 2021   Submitted: January 9, 2022   Source: AirBnB




Matt Q.
 
Thanksgiving in the Mountains


Everything was perfect just as we remembered. A special bonus was that our daughter's boyfriend asked her to marry him at Triple Falls and we're thrilled and we will always remember. Would like to come back in the New Year.
P.S. loved the cookbooks. Thanks for sharing them.

Stayed: November 2021  Submitted: November 30, 2021  Source: Guest Email




Carolyn K.
 
Great Family Stay


We had a great time while visiting the area for my brothers wedding. The house was comfortable for our family. My kids enjoyed the books there as well as enjoying the streams and land around the property. We had great communication with Tom before we arrived. Adam (the local cohost) was great in recommending a local event that was going on though we were unfortunately unable to go. Highly recommend this house!

Stayed: October 2021  Submitted: November 13, 2021  Source: VRBO




Kenneth H.
 
Family Vacation


Adults loved the privacy and front porch. Children enjoyed catching salamanders and crayfish in the creeks. A great family house.

Stayed: July 2021   Submitted: August 17, 2021   Source: VRBO




Tom W.
 
Beautiful Cedar Mountain Home


This home is more beautiful than even the pictures show. Great location, awesome moss covered grounds, well appointed interior. Very comfortable. Plenty of firewood and the porch was a great place for us to eat while listening to the stream. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: July 2021   Submitted: July 25, 2021   Source: VRBO




Bob R.
 
July 4th Weekend


Awesome stay -- the house and property were both amazing.

The house has rustic charm yet it is totally modern. The property itself is mother nature at her very best. No one wanted to leave; we all look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: July 2021   Submitted: July 23, 2021   Source: VRBO




Sara K.
 
Perfect location


Perfect location for a serene escape. Well-equipped, great communication, and an expansive porch!

Stayed: June 2021   Submitted: July 12, 2021   Source: AirBnB




Rebecca D.
 
The Best Time


We had the best time at the Pentimento house! We spent most of our time outside. L shaped porch with plenty of seating and our kids spent hours exploring the property and playing in the streams.

The home is lovely, just as described/pictured. Great little details like the porch railings. The walls are all wood paneled (in a pretty cabin kind of way- not as in my Gma’s 1970s house kind of way). While lovely they do allow more noise to pass through, so bring ear plugs if you have a loud snorer in the group.

Fully stocked kitchen! Everything we needed for cooking and then some. Plenty of bathrooms, plenty of towels. Bathroom & kitchen supplied with enough essentials like paper towels, TP & trash bags (we’ve been to a few places that didn’t). Everything we needed was certainly there.

All the kids (ages 5-15) said exploring the property was their favorite thing we did on our long weekend! This won out over Pretty Place, Sliding Rock AND a really cool TOY store in Brevard!!! We would most definitely stay at this property again!

Stayed May 2021:   Submitted: June 17, 2021   Source: VRBO




Leah M.
 
Perfect


This house is perfect for eight people to sleep comfortably. It has a beautiful kitchen and living room, but the best part is definitely the porch and the yard. I recommend the Pentimento if you are planning to hike at Caesar’s Head or visit “Pretty Place.” The location is the perfect, and there is so much to explore!

Stayed: May 2021   Submitted: June 6, 2021   Source: AirBnB




Kim A.
 
Beautiful


The grounds are beautiful and very private. We had a fantastic time. The house was very clean.

Stayed: February 2021   Submitted: March 7, 2021   Source: AirBnB




John R.
 
Wow!!!


Wow!!! This is the nicest cabin our family has had the pleasure of staying in! Pentimento is tucked nicely atop a small hill, surrounded by trees, private and the spongey dry moss covering the grounds really begs you to go explore the creeks and take a walk. Surprisingly it was not slippery but provided a better foothold!

The wrap around porch is anyone’s dream with cozy rockers, side tables, a swing and 2 tables with more chairs, benches and 3 ceiling fans which I imagine to really be refreshing during the warmer months. The inside of Pentimento is decorated in good taste and design, very large fireplace, fully stocked kitchen, master room downstairs and upstairs along with 2 other bedrooms makes this the perfect hideaway to unplug and rejuvenate!

If anyone is wondering the beds are very comfortable and we all slept like babies at night, no back problems in the morning! There are some really special touches to this cabin which really endeared me during our stay. I encourage you to look through the book collection and find the book Pentimento (it is older and becoming fragile but fun reading by the fireplace)

The town of Brevard is about 15 minutes away and is quite charming and updated but with a cute old time feel. The Biltmore in NC is about an hour away and I highly recommend their tour. Sliding Rock is on my to do list this summer when we hope to come back!

We did a really neat little hike at Wildcat Branch Falls about 20 min drive from the cabin. I highly recommend going as there are 2 small waterfalls right off the road and then you can walk the trail back in there and explore. Trail was clear and taken care of and it was good for my kids ages 4, 7, 8 and 10.

We brought a few of our favorite card games and board games with us and played a lot in front of the fire with rootbeer floats. It was also really nice that we got to meet Lee who helped with the cabin renovations many year ago and he dropped off a huge supply of fire wood.

Tom and Frannie, your place is very special and I highly recommend anyone who is looking for a beautiful nature sanctuary to book Pentimento. Thank you once again and God Bless!!

Stayed: February 2021   Submitted: March 1, 2021   Source: AirBnB




Erica V.
 
A Beautiful Place


Pentimento was a beautiful place surrounded by amazing nature. It gives you that feeling of a more rustic time but with all the modern amenities. It is a beautiful piece of property that allows you to escape the everyday hustle. Just make sure to bring games, cards, etc to help bring everyone together around the fire in the main room. Also, make sure to check out the quaint town of Brevard and get out and see the sights that are all around!

Stayed: January 2021   Submitted: February 1, 2021   Source: AirBnB




Stephanie D.
 
Best Privately Owned Stay


This is the best privately owned stay we’ve ever had. There was a fully stocked kitchen of all of the tools needed for cooking along with many cookbooks. The house was incredibly clean and comfortable. Many books to choose from throughout the house. We enjoyed time by the large fireplace, on the porch, and exploring the property. The location was breathtaking! My only regret is we didn’t book another night. Thank you, Frannie and Tom!

Stayed: January 2021   Submitted: January 6, 2021   Source: AirBnB




Julia B.
 
Stunning!


The property was absolutely stunning! The kids loved playing in the creeks, and the adults loved the tranquility. It was above and beyond what we were looking for in a weekend getaway. We will definitely be back soon!

Stayed: November 2020   Submitted: December 6, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Lee M.
 
Lovely Second Trip


We had the best time! The house is beautiful and perfectly set up for two small families. The property is amazing. The kids loved playing in the streams. Sarah, the hostess is amazing with recommendations! Hiking very close by!

Stayed: November 2020   Submitted: December 2, 2020   Source: VRBO




Jean M.
 
Wonderful Time


We had a wonderful time in this beautiful home. The grounds were so beautiful and peaceful. This is a well stocked house that would do well for any holiday with large families. We will be back one day soon.

Stayed: October 2020   Submitted: October 30, 2020   Source: VRBO




Jill F.
 
Someplace Special


From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we knew we had found someplace special. The warmth and peace that permeates from this place is tangible as soon as you step through the threshold. Pentimento feels like an old lodge (think, "A River Runs Through It") but if you look closely, you can see the updated, modern stability of the renovation. The property itself is a Rhododendron and mossy magical wonderland, with cascading waterfalls, tucked away from view from any other homes, and we woke up to deer grazing in the meadow. This house is located within a few miles drive of amazing mountain biking trails throughout the Dupont Forest. My only regret is that we spent so much time on the MTB trails, we didn't have enough time to sit on the covered porch and enjoy the serenity. We will definitely be coming back, if not before the end of the year, then next year!

Stayed: October 2020   Submitted: October 18, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Dan S.
 
Beautiful Setting


Beautiful setting and grounds. A lovely home for a family to disconnect and spend time together. Very well provisioned kitchen … you could make anything because all the tools are there. Perfect home base for nearby hikes.

Stayed: September 2020   Submitted: Spetember 27, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Kristen G.
 
Entering Another World


The pictures do not do this beautiful home justice. We felt like we were entering another world just going down the driveway. The kids loved playing in the stream, and the home is close to many things to do. We had a fantastic stay and hope to return soon!

Stayed: August 2020   Submitted: September 6, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Anna B.
 
Very Nice Property


Was a very nice property - rustic and remote; and beautiful setting as described. Close to many of the area's featured landmarks to visit with an active family. Also well positioned as a safe option during pandemic - far from too much activity. House was very nicely supplied and comfortable. Power did go out and Wi-fi with a storm, but local contact was extremely helpful getting things back in order.

Stayed: July 2020   Submitted: August 4, 2020   Source: VRBO




Brian P.
 
Lovely Week


We enjoyed a lovely week at this place. Pics on vrbo don't really do it justice. The creeks on both sides of the house make for very relaxing porch sitting. The kids loved playing in them and caught several pet salamanders. Location is perfect. A few days mountain biking at Dupont state forest only 15 minutes away. Rented a boat on lake jocassee only 50 minutes away. Etc. Owner should provide some history of the place is my only critique

Stayed: July 2020   Submitted: August 4, 2020   Source: VRBO




Keith W.
 
Wonderful Time


My family and another family of long time friends had a great vacation at this cabin. The location, accommodations and owners/hosts were all top notch from start to finish. The owner is very accommodating and helpful and always responded very quickly to any questions we had whether before or during our trip. The host (local property contact), Sarah, was also very helpful and friendly. She made sure we had everything we needed and answered questions we had about the area. She also offered many great recommendations on where to go and how to get there.

The cabin itself was beautiful and exceptionally clean, not to mention extremely well stocked. The grounds were more than we’d hoped for. The kids (5 of them) played outside for hours on end and never tired. The property is enormous. Other than making the 30 minute trek into Brevard (neighboring town) to grocery shop upon our arrival we never had to travel more than 15 minutes in any direction to find and play on many state park trails and numerous waterfalls. We stayed here for 6 nights. We all had a wonderful time and would highly recommend renting this property.

Stayed: July 2020   Submitted: July 31, 2020   Source: VRBO




Christopher L.
 
Breath-taking


This property is breath-taking. Amazing location, close to so much hiking and outdoor fun. The house has so much character as well as the most well stocked kitchen of an airbnb I've every seen. This made cooking dinners at the house a pleasure. The deck was an amazing place to relax and spend mornings and evenings. The moss covered creek in the back was where the kids spent a lot of time exploring and playing. We will definitely be back to this property asap.

Stayed: June 2020   Submitted: July 12, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Brittany W.
 
Awesome house!


Favorite part was the porch. We ate every meal outside. Kids played in the creek for hours everyday after we got back from hiking.

Stayed: June 2020   Submitted: July 6, 2020   Source: VRBO




Elizabeth R.
 
Wonderful retreat!


Beautiful home and property! We loved the porch and had everything we needed. The location was great for numerous hiking opportunities and we will be back!

Stayed: May 2020   Submitted: June 19, 2020   Source: VRBO




Lauren P.
 
Wonderful Retreat


We were thrilled with this rental. It was perfect for our two families with small children (4, 3, 20M & 9m). The cabin was kid friendly. We especially loved the extra protection on the porch. The beds were also extremely comfortable. We all joked that the kitchen is better stocked then our own personal one. A true mountain retreat with gourmet touches. We will be back soon!

Stayed: December 2019   Submitted: January 22, 2020   Source: VRBO




Jennifer R.
 
Wonderful atmosphere & location. Great family home. Awesome hosts.


Absolutely the best rental I have ever stayed in. Kitchen was fabulous. Fireplace was just what we needed for Christmas. Location was awesome. You felt as if you were being hugged by the mountains. Would highly recommend & hope to return. Frances & Tom were very responsive to any questions we had. Words don’t describe the ambiance of "Pentimento."

Stayed: December 2019   Submitted: January 12, 2020   Source: AirBnB




Bruce B.
 
Fabulous Property!


This was our second stay at Pentimento—a perfect central meeting place for our college friends reunion in an amazingly beautiful area. We were so happy to be back! The house is lovely—large porches for sitting & visiting; beautiful, wood-paneled living areas & bedrooms; modern kitchen & bathrooms; and comfortable beds! The owners & property manager respond quickly and are nice to deal with. We will definitely return and highly recommend this fabulous property.

Stayed: October 2019   Submitted: November 5, 2019   Source: VRBO




Jan G.
 
What can you say when you’ve stayed in what felt like paradise!


It is a lovely home that truly felt like home from the minute we turned onto the driveway. It was provisioned for our 8 person party with more linens, plates, glasses and dishes than we could possible use. Honestly we had a hard time leaving the porch and the beautiful view.

Stayed: June 2019   Submitted: July 9, 2019   Source: VRBO




Althea B.
 
LOVED Pentimento!


We have LOVED Pentimento! It is so fabulous — everything is perfect — no complaints, just compliments too numerous to list. It reminds us of an updated version of the old Summer cabins in the Monteagle Assembly (a Chautauqua-type place) near our college in Sewanee, TN.

Stayed: October 2018   Submitted: October 7, 2018   Source: Guest Email




Dana W.
 
Hidden Gem in the Mountains


Thank you so much for the use of your lovely home. Although we had heavy, rainy weather that prevented us from doing most activities we planned for the week, the house was absolutely perfect! The bedrooms were comfy and spacious and allowed our family to spread out yet your great room and porch were fantastic spots to gather everyone together! The kitchen and linen closet was stocked with plenty of supplies for our crew. The grounds were simply breathtaking and our kids enjoyed exploring the stream, waterfall and bridge! Thank you - we enjoyed your home!

Stayed: July 2018   Submitted: August 18, 2018   Source: VRBO




Paul H.
 
Perfectly situated, furnished, and equipped


We were very comfortable and pleased with everything. The instructions for entry and operating appliances and media were very helpful.

Stayed: June 2018   Submitted: July 29, 2018   Source: VRBO




Erin K.
 
Incredible secluded mountain rainforest retreat


Several friends and I spent three nights at Pentimento before a mid-summer wedding at Pretty Place Chapel. What an incredible location! The cabin is in a secluded area surrounded by a mossy forest with a creek running through the property. It was an incredible oasis, and each morning we enjoyed sitting in the many chairs and swings in the porch, listening to the running water and watching the humming birds whiz by.

The kitchen was very well-stocked with dishes and utensils, so it was very easy to make meals. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. I can only imagine how cozy the living room might be in winter with a fire in the fireplace!

Communication with the owners was clear and timely, and we were given very helpful instructions about locating the cabin.

We had a phenomenal experience - I highly recommend Pentimento for a peaceful, comfortable stay in a beautiful secluded location. Many thanks!

Stayed: July 2018   Submitted: July 23,2018   Source: VRBO




Coleen G.
 
Wonderful house and amenities


Wonderful house!! You will not regret renting this house.

(Guest's comment to owner's survey: What did you especially like .. The house was perfect. Location excellent. House well supplied. I liked everything about the house. What changes or improvements ... Nothing Everything was great!!)

Stayed: July 2018   Submitted: July 9, 2018   Source: VRBO




Rebecca L.
 
Gorgeous Home


This home is gorgeous. The pictures online do not do the property justice. The kitchen was well stocked with every cooking item necessary to prepare all of our meals. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. My favorite portion of the house is the large wrap around porch. There is a stream nearby and at night the entire property is lit with fireflies. It truly is magical. We cannot wait to stay again!

Stayed: June 2018   Submitted: June 19, 2018   Source: AirBnB




Vicki T.
 
Thank You


This is Vicki. We had a wonderful time. Your house is wonderful! You have thought of everything. So well stocked. Thank you again. The boys loved it. We will see you again. Sent from my iPhone

Stayed: June 2018   Submitted: June 12, 2018   Source: Guest Text Message




Yelena R.
 
Enchanted house from a fairy tale!!!


We absolutely loved our stay in this secluded cabin. Excellent amenities, lots of dishes and utensils. Easy booking, quick and easy access to lots of beautiful trails with waterfalls. The house itself looks like from a fairy tale, with a little creek and moss surrounding it. Enough parking for 3-4 (maybe even more) cars. We would love to come back.

Stayed: December 2017   Submitted: Jan 3, 2018   Source: VRBO




Jessica W.
 
Christmas 2017


Spent xmas 2017 here w family. House is more beautiful than pics convey. Great place to hole up and eat, drink, and talk for a few days in front of the fireplace with no cell phone reception. Perfect location for those looking to find trails. Kitchen is VERY well equipped. Decor is thoughtful and stylish and very practical layout for large group. Check in and checkout were easy. Thank you for hosting us!!

Stayed: December 2017   Submitted: December 29, 2017   Source: AirBnB




Gene W.
 
Best Thanksgiving Holidays Ever


My family including wife, daughter and her husband, their 18 year olds twins and my son spent the Thanksgiving holidays in this wonderful house and it was the best ever. The house is very special, with every convenience imaginable with a breathtaking view of nature including streams that run through the property, located on the highest mountain in S. C. It is so secluded but within 10 miles of the beautiful small mountain town of Brevard, N. C. which has all of the amenities that one would want. The fire place was beautiful and efficient and we kept it going all of the time as the woodpile was overflowing. For the past 14 years we have vacationed at different locations in the mountain however none compared to this. it provided a memorable Thanksgiving for us, one that we will never forget. You could not ever find a better and charming place to vacation.

Stayed: November 2017   Submitted: Nov 28, 2017   Source: VRBO




Erin W.
 
Pictures do not do it justice


Absolutely awesome house that was perfect for our family! We will be back!

Stayed: November 2017   Submitted: Nov 20, 2017   Source: VRBO




Janice G.
 
Return Visit


We had another great family visit. John & I are pooped from keeping up with our adult hikers and explorers. The boys stayed away from the mesmerizing TV and joined in lively conversations, card cards and cooking challenges. Listening to the night noises and watching the leaves fall from your porch are truly memory making. It's so peaceful there.

You and your family have a lot to be proud of in that wonderful home and property. Until next time, all the best.

Stayed: October 2017   Submitted: October 19, 2017   Source: Guest Email




Chad F.
 
We had a good time at your house


We three families spent a great long weekend at this lovely house. Everything is so thoughtfully and perfectly designed and maintained. Nice bedrooms with private bathrooms fit every families. Open porch with forest view is a casual place for reading and chatting. We love the kitchen the best where we have almost everything we need to prepare us wonderful holiday meals. The house is located close to so may parks, trails and waterfalls that we enjoyed sightseeing everyday. We wish that we could stay a couple more days longer but we do know that we will come back again.

Stayed: July 2017   Submitted: July 5, 2017   Source: AirBnB




Jason W.
 
Best House for the Location and Money


My family of 4 and another family of 4 just stayed over Memorial Weekend and we all loved it. You will not find a finer nicer home for your family to stay in. We all said that we could live in this house. It has everything that you could possibly need plus everything was top of the line. No expense spared in this house. The views were excellent and everything is near by. We said we would come back to this house again and again if available.

Stayed: May 2017   Submitted: May 29, 2017   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers



Carol K.
 
Wonderful Stay


My family and I had a wonderful stay in the mountains for the holiday. The house is down a drive in the middle of a rhododendron woods. The house was incredibly stocked, no need to pack anything but your clothes for your stay. The living room was a perfect size for family to sit and visit and enjoy the fire. Beds were very comfortable with very cozy bedding and the firewood was fully stocked for our evening fires. Nearby Brevard is a wonderful little town. I can only imagine how beautiful the property would be in the spring with the rhododendron in bloom.
The owners were very easy to contact and very helpful. I would love to go back in the warmer weather for fly fishing and hiking.

Stayed: December 2016   Submitted: January 2, 2017   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway



Celeste B.
Atlanta, GA
 
A perfect central location; beautiful, comfortable cabin that welcomes you home away from home!!


I so enjoyed the ease and convenience of this great cabin. So close to Caesar's Head, Dupont Forest, Symmes Chapel, and Pisgah --- we hiked each day and didn't have to travel that far to get to these awesome places. The cabin is just beautiful! You could feel the love and history in all the great details of the cabin and its surroundings. It was very clean, well equipped kitchen, big bedrooms and baths, and a great comfy living room with a big fireplace! Awesome porch. Owners are a pleasure to work with -you will not be disappointed in this great cabin. Look forward to a return visit!!!

Stayed: October 2016   Submitted: November 1, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Adventure seekers



Gene S.
 
Great Home!


We had a great stay at this beautiful and well appointed home. Great kitchen with everything you will need and more, wonderful beds with high quality bedding and sheets and an absolutely fabulous porch. We spent most of our time there. The porch had a swing and comfortable chairs and was especially alluring at night when it was a little cooler. The home is centrally located to many local attractions including hiking and waterfalls. We plan to return.

Stayed: August 2016   Submitted: August 18, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers



Bob & Jo Fields
near Atlanta
 
Beautiful cabin!


Great getaway!! Four couples in all, for four nights at this lovely cabin built in 1939; but has since been renovated. A lot of time spent on roomy porch enjoying the surrounding wooded views. 2 couples had their own en suite bathroom. 3rd spacious bathroom shared by 2 other couples. Kitchen very well equipped with 2 ovens, microwave, coffee maker and large walk-in pantry that stored all kinds of dishes and pots and pans. In short, we lacked for nothing! Easy day trips were taken to Brevard, Asheville, Greenville & quaint Hendersonville. What differentiated this cabin from other cabins, was the care taken with the decor. Loved the rustic charm and vintage feel of the cabin; tastefully decorated.Lots of wonderful books scattered about, but too busy going & visiting to do any reading! Maybe on next visit!

Stayed: June 2016   Submitted: July 5, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Gigi Bluffton
South Carolina, USA
 
"Pentimento" is "Excellento"


This was our fly fishing groups 2nd time renting "Pentimento". It is such a great place, very comfortable and relaxing. The home is set back from the main road and surrounded by woods, so it's very private. Downtown Brevard is only about 12 miles away. The kitchen is the best equipped rental we've ever been - two ovens, microwave, toaster oven, lots of flatware, pots/pans, dishes, etc. It also has any kitchen tool/utensil you would ever need, and everything is good quality. The beds are very comfortable and the home is very clean, and well-maintained.
Drawbacks? - The front access stairs might seem intimidating at first glance. However, we are in our 60's and 70's and had no real problem. However, I would not recommend this rental for anyone with a serious physical disability.

Stayed: April 2016   Submitted: April 7, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



laura B.
 
Wonderful cabin in the mountains


gorgeous lot. There's a small waterfall steps from the house - magical. Truly a home away from home, with an amazing kitchen equipped to handle Thanksgiving or Christmas with ease. Very cozy and charming! It really felt like a cabin loaned by old friends. Very well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, a Kitchenaid mixer - need I say more? :) State of the art dishwasher, 2 ovens - it was amazing cooking in this kitchen. This is an older cabin, lovingly restored- it instantly felt like home. So close to Dupont state forest, which has well-maintained trails for hiking and gorgeous waterfalls. Brevard is a charming town, only 15 minutes away, and there's an Ingles supermarket for last minute grocery shopping. We had a wonderful time here and plan to be back! Thank you for your hospitality!

Stayed: December 2015   Submitted: January 10, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Justin B.
 
A Wonderful Place


ur family stayed at the property for three nights. Great house that is situated on a beautiful section of the woods. Tom is very prompt with the booking process and we will be definitely be reserving the home again. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2015   Submitted: November 2, 2015   Source: VRBO



Janice G.
 
Fall Family Fun!


We had a fantastic time at Pentimento. The description of the house is point on. Extremely comfortable home. We loved the huge porch. Wonderful place for a family gathering. Great hiking nearby!

Stayed: October 2015   Submitted: October 14, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



alex r.
 
Great place for a family trip!! It has Everything!


Pentimento was a amazing place to stay! We met some friends from SC here for the weekend so there were 9 of us and we never felt crowded. The house is comfortable and well decorated. The wraparound porch is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy some morning coffee or the quiet of the afternoon/evening.

The bedrooms are all large and the beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms were very clean and updated.

The kitchen was the best in that it had everything you needed. When we rent homes you never know what you need to bring to cook at a house but here you can leave it all at home because they have everything. I think you could cook for a small army with all the gear they have. The gas grill worked fine we cooked steaks and burgers on it with great results.

The living room is very comfortable with a large stone fireplace(it was too warm for us to use but would have been nice on a cold fall evening). There is a TV with Satellite so you can get most of the football games you need though the tv is only 37in which for a living room is a little small but it worked fine for us.

The house has a great AC system, another thing I worry about in rental homes. There are separate units for upstairs and downstairs and they work very well.

The property the house sits on is beautiful old forest land and very well cared for. Our kids had a great time out exploring the area.

Location is good too. it was only 1.5 hrs from Greenville and 45 min from Asheville. Brevard is 20 min away and it is a fun town with great restaurants and stores with a old time feel. There are about 4 state and national parks within 20 miles from the house. there are hiking trails as close as a mile away and the Pisgah National forest is just on the other side of Brevard. We spent one day there hiking and swimming at the falls and doing some sliding at slide rock.

It was a great stay overall. Our only issue is that it was a long trip from Eastern NC for us. If it was a little closer it would be a place I would stay every time I went to the mountains. But for people from charlotte/asheville/greenville area this should be a house you don't want to miss.

Only thing you need to be aware of is there are ALOT of stairs at this house. It sits on a hillside and from the parking area to the front door is all stairs. The master suite is on the first floor but all other bedrooms are upstairs as well. Nothing we couldn't manage but for others it may be an issue.

Stayed: September 2015   Submitted: September 14, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



sylvia c.
 
"Enchanted Forest"


That's what my family named our 26 acre hideaway! We had to send pictures to our relatives because it was difficult to describe the beauty of our surroundings. The moment I started up the driveway, I knew I was not going to be disappointed. The gentle creek on either side of the house could actually be played in. I have rented houses that advertised "a creek for the kids", but upon arrival found it overgrown and snakey. As stated in other feedbacks, the house was clean....had q uality bedding....well equipped and supplied kitchen....and the BEST porch ever!! We lived on it enjoying the fan cooled shade as well as the rain. BABY BONUS !! The upstairs bedroom with king bed has a walk-in closet with the bathroom between. It was perfect for my granddaughter's pack-n-play. Her naps and early bedtime was not hindered by the 'fun' in the rest of the house. The closet has a window, vent and receptacle.

Stayed: July 2015   Submitted: August 3, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Terry A.
 
Beautiful retreat


What a beautiful home tucked away in the woods. The porch is magnificent, and the perfect place to sit and relax. Such thoughtful design and attention to detail in every room of the house. We came with our adult children and spouses. We enjoyed eating and cooking together in this beautiful, fully equipped kitchen. Being from the Midwest, it was a perfect home station to rest, go hiking in Dupont State Forest (so close) or Rainbow Falls in Gorges State Park-our favorite. We even went white water rafting on the Chattooga River-the only wild and scenic river in Eastern US. It was so nice to return to soft bedding, hot showers and delicious home cooked meals. It is the ideal setting for stress to melt away and rejuvenate the soul. There were 2 Barred owls that lived at the end of the driveway. The house is surrounded by moss, ferns and tall trees resembling a magical natural retreat that I have never encountered before. It is the perfect get-away.

Stayed: June 2015   Submitted: June 23, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



A guest from Columbia, SC
 
New Years celebration


Three couples have been celebrating the new year together for nine years and all agreed this is by far the best place yet. We were awed by the surroundings and the home. It was very comfortably decorated and we instantly felt at home. It is so well equipped you can even leave your salt and pepper at home!

Stayed: December 2014   Submitted: January 6, 2015   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Harriet Gettys
South Carolina
 
Great House, Grounds, & location


Wonderful home! Owners have taken care of every detail. Local assistance from Ellen, with any need or suggestions of hiking trails, sightseeing, etc. Lots to do in t he area. Our visit was a girls getaway for four people. We enjoyed the house very much and are considering return visits with our families. I would not hesitate to recommend this house for rental. Two things to note: One is that there are a lot of stairs from the driveway to the house. They are clear in the photos. The other is that there is no cell service at the house. There is WIFI which seemed to work well. Also, there is a local phone with limited time long distance access. Neither of these things were a real issue for us.

Stayed: September 2014   Submitted: September 26, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers



Tonya B.
 
Family Get Away


My family just got back from a few days at Pentimento. It is an amazing house with plenty of room for people to spread out. Even though it rained a good bit while we were there, we enjoyed the rocking chairs and swing on the porch for hours. The kitchen was the best stocked kitchen i have ever seen. Anything you needed to cook a meal was at your disposal! It was very tastefully decorated with antiques and very cozy and warm. We loved the large stone fireplace for the cool mountain nights (even in August)! The house sits on 20 something acres so it is very private with streams on either side of the house. I would definitely recommend this property. Pictures don't do it justice.

Stayed: August 2014   Submitted: August 8, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Stephanie W.
 
My stay in this beautiful house


This is an awesome place to stay especially if you have kids that like to play outside. There is a stream right on the property and a grassy area for playing ball. The house is neat and accommodated all 9 of us. If you have bad knees, the climb up the steps may be difficult for you. It is isolated and private. I would recommend this house, and I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014   Submitted: June 28, 2014   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers



S&L Supply
NC
 
Early Fall in the Mountains


This is a beautifully restored mountain home. Impeccably clean and comfortable. The kitchen was modern and had very tool and gadget to satisfy gourmet cooks. We had a wonderful time exploring - there are many interesting sights close by, including Caesars Head (beautiful views), DuPont Forest (amazing waterfalls) and too many hiking trails to list. The house is close to the quaint town of Brevard (do your food shopping at Ingles) and good restaurants (try Marco's). We had a fun canoe trip down the French Broad river. It was great to come back after a day of exploring and have a cocktail on the porch, a nice meal, and a soothing wood fire. There are so many things to do and see and Pentimento is the ideal place to stage your mountain vacation.

Stayed: September 2013   Submitted: October 12, 2013   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Joni, Nashville, TN
 
Pentimento


Excellent accommodations! Just like being at home - complete kitchen for the cooks, comfortable beds in every room with luxurious bedding, all seating very comfortable, wonderful wrap around porch, large den w/ fireplace, outdoor grill - home surrounded by a virtual rainforest environ. QUIET and peaceful. Lovely setting. Must note a lot of stairs to house from parking area. Nearby to Dupont Forest & Falls, Brevard, NC and Caesars Head, SC as well as "Pretty Place" where the YMCA Camp is located.Most enjoyable - we will return! Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2013   Submitted: June 10, 2013   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway



Anonymous
summerville
 
Absolutely PERFECT!


You will not be disappointed with this mountain house rental. From the minute you enter the driveway, you'll know you made the right choice. The surrounding area is beautiful, conveniently located and overall just charming. You'll enjoy the short drive to Brevard or Hendersonville for shopping or dining and the hiking trails that are located within minutes from this property. No need to look any further...this is definitely the rental you should choose if you want a cozy, spacious, well-stocked, clean and comfortable vacation home. We can't wait until our next stay!

Stayed: October 2012   Submitted: October 29, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Sarah
Greenville sc
 
I LOVE this place!!


I am a local resident who was searching for a location for my wedding. As an avid mountain biker i knew I wanted my wedding in the mountains I love to ride. When I found Pentimento I knew I found the perfect location! It was minutes from my favorite trails and secluded enough to give me the true feeling of being in the woods. The house was perfect size for our small wedding. The kitchen was great for cooking (we cooked all the food for the wedding); it was stocked with every utensil and serving dish we could need. The wrap around porch was perfect for entertaining and great for sipping morning coffee and listening to the wind in the trees and birds singing. The beds were incredibly comfortable and had high quality linens; certainly superior than the average hotel. We had family in town from out of state and they rented a house in the area as well. The difference between the two properties was shocking. The other house provided the very basics, whereas pentimento went above and beyond, considering each and every need I may have.

The local contact and caretaker of the property was extremely kind and generous, and ensured that all of our needs were met. They even took the time to let us view the property before we rented it.

It truly was above and beyond my expectations and made my wedding spectacular!! We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: October 2012   Submitted: October 14, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Judy
Houston, TX
 
Pentimento Mountain Retreat


This is a beautiful property with friendly, responsive owners. The listing accurately describes the premises but you have to be there to experience the incredible ambiance. The large porch with comfortable seating and a swing provided the perfect spot for enjoying the quiet beauty of the woods. The property was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained; the caretaker is a lifelong resident of the area, and was willing to answer all of our questions. The kitchen is well supplied with utensils and other conveniences. The property is about 20 minutes from Brevard where you will find restaurants, shops, pharmacies and 2 major grocery chains. There are beautiful hiking trails, waterfalls, and numerous points of interest along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Asheville is a lovely town a little over an hour away, with restaurants, shops, and the Biltmore, which is worth the drive. I would definitely recommend Pentimento to anyone who asks, and we certainly plan to return.

Stayed: July 2012   Submitted: July 12, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Teresa Hoyt
Norcross, GA
 
Incomparable Mountain Getaway!


There are simply no words to describe what a fabulous vacation experience this home provides. Every year, we go up with two other couples for what has become an annual vacation that includes fly fishing, hiking, and what we all now refer to as "porch sitting -- Pentimento style." The house is one of the most beautifully appointed I have ever seen or stayed in. The modern kitchen is equipped with everything imaginable. The rooms and furnishings are welcoming and comfortable. But, without a doubt, the porch makes the house! Our group (since we are all Epicopalian Anglers, we have nicknamed ourselves the "Anglercans") just completed our fourth visit, and have every intention of continuing our annual retreat at Tom and Frannie's perfect mountain hideaway!

Stayed: May 2012   Submitted: May 28, 2012   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers